Technology

Facebook Messenger Now Lets Everyone Unsend Text Messages

After months of waiting, Facebook’s “Unsend” feature is finally rolling out on a global level. The Facebook Messenger feature was first unveiled back in 2018, for a bunch of countries.

As the name suggests, the feature lets you redact a message sent on the Messenger. So if you accidentally messaged a wrong person or made a typo, Facebook will let you remove the text form recipient’s inbox, within the time span of 10 minutes.

For those who are wondering how it will work; essentially, long-pressing a sent text will present two options: Remove for Everyone and Remove for You. As one can tell, selecting the first one removes the message from everywhere while the latter will remove it only for you, i.e., it will keep the message in the recipient’s box intact.

Interestingly, Facebook-owned Whatsapp messaging app has had this feature for quite some time now. Even though Facebook promised to deliver the feature back in 2018, it is only now when we can see it in action.

Moreover, the feature only made it to the platform because of the pressure from Facebook users. Back in April last year, a report caused a heavy criticism towards Facebook CEO, when it was revealed that Mark Zuckerberg had the exclusive power to delete his messages from recipient’s inbox.

Although Facebook responded with a card of “security reasons,” it’s pretty obvious that the Facebook founder will have more power in hand, than a normal user. However, it violates the platform’s policies and therefore forced Zuckerberg to implement a fair rule for everyone.

You Might Also Like